Five Levels of Ecology

Ecology is the scientific study of the distribution and abundance of life along with the interactions between different organisms and their natural environment. It is the branch of biology, and the name Ecology was derived from the Greek word, which refers to the house or the environment.

What are the 5 Levels of Ecology?

There are five Levels of Organization, and all levels are listed according to their size in increasing order – from small to large.

Organism → Population → Community → Ecosystem → Biosphere

Organism – It is the lowest level of organization, which includes both unicellular and multicellular organisms. All the living species in this level exhibits all the characteristics required for the existence of life.

Population – It describes a group of organisms of a single species living together within a particular geographic area by interbreeding and competing with each other for resources. It is larger than the organism.

Community – It refers to the several interacting populations that inhabit a common environment and are interdependent. It is larger than the population.

Ecosystem – It is the set of all living species, living together in a given area by interacting with both living and nonliving components of their environment. Also, read the Ecosystem

Biosphere – It is the highest level of organization. It is the global ecological system which consists of all the living organisms and other factors which supports life. Biosphere mainly refers to the part of the earth’s crust. This was a brief introduction to the Ecological Levels of Organization in an ecosystem.

You might also be interested in:

Stay tuned with BYJU’S to know more about the Ecology, Ecosystem, its components and the levels of organization in an Ecosystem.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *