SSC CGL Marking Scheme 2023

The Staff Selection Commission of India conducts a Combined Graduate Level Exam to recruit staff in various posts in ministries and departments of the Indian Government.

To qualify for these posts, candidates have to take the SSC CGL exam in four stages, Tier-I, Tier-III & Tier-IV, Tier-I, Tier-III & Tier-IV. Ideally, the first two tier exams take place online, while Tier-III will be a pen and paper-based exam. The final Tier is a computer skill test.

Candidates must note that SSC decides the SSC CGL marking scheme for Tier-I & Tier-II Exam based on different criteria. Technically, based on these results, the candidates will be selected for Tier-III & Tier-IV exams. The following article will help students understand the SSC CGL exam pattern and marking scheme.

Aspirants preparing for SSC CGL Exam can check the following links for assistance-

SSC CGL Tier-I Exam Pattern

SSC CGL Tier-I exam is conducted online and comprises four sections with 100 questions. Ideally, the total marks in SSC CGL Tier- I is 200.

The total exam is conducted for 1 hour.

Individuals should be aware of the various sections in the SSC CGL Tier-I Exam

  • English comprehension
  • General awareness
  • Quantitative aptitude
  • General Intelligence and reasoning
Papers Total Marks Number of Questions
Paper-I: General Intelligence and reasoning 50 25
Paper-II: General awareness 50 25
Paper-III: Quantitative aptitude 50 25
Paper-IV: English comprehension 50 25

SSC CGL Tier-II Exam Pattern

SSC CGL Tier-II exam is also conducted online and comprises four papers. The sections like Statistics, Quantitative ability and General Studies consist of 100 marks.

Comprehension Papers and English Language questions carry 200 marks.

The sections covered in SSC CGL Tier-II question paper are-

  • English language & comprehension
  • Economics and Finance based general studies
  • Quantitative ability
  • Statistics

The table underneath explains the SSC CGL marks division for Tier-II for a detailed understanding.

Papers Total Marks No of Questions
Paper-I: Quantitative Ability 200 100
Paper-II: English Language and Comprehension 200 20
Paper-III: Statistics 200 100
Paper-IV: General Studies (Economics and Finance) 200 100

Individuals should know there is a negative marking of 0.25 for each wrong answer in the paper- II or English Language and Comprehension section. At the same time, 0.50 marks are deducted for incorrect answers in Paper-I, Paper-III and Paper-IV.

To learn more about the Combined Graduate Level examination conducted by the Staff Selection Commission, candidates can refer to the links given below:

SSC CGL Posts SSC CGL salary
SSC CGL Apply Online SSC CGL Cut Off
SSC CGL exam dates SSC CGL Preparation

SSC CGL Tier-III Exam Pattern

SSC CGL Tier-II is a descriptive test. Candidates have to give a pen and paper exam in the respective examination hall. The details on the same are published on the official website.

Ideally, the candidates have the flexibility to answer the papers in Hindi and English. The total mark of the Tier-III exam is 100. Candidates have to answer the whole paper within a span of 60 minutes.

The following table explains the SSC CGL marks division for the Tier-III exam.

Subject Total Marks
Descriptive paper in Hindi or English (Precis, Writing of Essay, Letter, Application and more) 100

SSC CGL Tier-IV Exam Pattern

SSC CGL Tier-IV Exam is a Computer Skill Test. There are two primary test forms in Tier- IV.

DEST- Candidates have to type nearly 2000 words within a span of 15 minutes in English to pass the test. This test takes place online to assess candidates’ writing skills.

CPT- This test takes place to assess an individual’s proficiency in applications like Spreadsheets, Powerpoint and Microsoft Word.

Hopefully, the following discussion on SSC CGL marking scheme will help aspirants understand the exam pattern. They can check the official website for a detailed breakup on SSC CGL total marks and negative marking.

This practice will help them understand the areas or topics that need more attention. In this regard, one can check educational portals that offer solutions and explanations on SSC CGL related topics.

Candidates can also check out the preparation strategies for competitive exams to fine-tune their preparation for SSC CGL exam.

Other Related Links
SSC CGL Answer Key SSC CGL Exam Analysis
SSC CGL Result SSC Exam Calendar
SSC Cut Off SSC Recruitment

Frequently Asked Questions on SSC CGL Marking Scheme


Does SSC conduct the CGL exam in written test format?

Only the Tier-III exam takes place in written or paper and pen format. Candidates have to visit the examination hall for the said exam.


What is the basic eligibility to sit for CGL exam?

Candidates should be at least a graduate to appear for SSC CGL exam. Additionally, they have to fall in the age bracket of 18 and 32 years.


How many attempts are allowed in CGL exam?

There are no specified limitations for attempts in the CGL exam. However, there is an age limit for the candidates that may indicate the attempts to roughly seven.


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.