List of Members of Lok Sabha

Lok Sabha Members are a part of the Indian Parliament along with the President of India and the Rajya Sabha members. The Lok Sabha plays the basis of Indian Politics and the members of Lok Sabha act as representatives of the citizens of our country.

For aspirants who are looking forward to appearing in the various Government exams conducted in our country, it is important to be aware of the members of Lok Sabha, the political party in power and the number of seats owned by various parties in the Lok Sabha.

Aspirants who are preparing for the upcoming Government exams can uplift their preparation with the links mentioned below:

Given below are a few points related to the Lok Sabha members in our country. Candidates can go through the salient points given below:

  • It is also known as the House of People and is the lower house of the Indian Parliament.
  • The Constitution of India mentions that a maximum of 552 members can be elected for Lok Sabha.
  • The election principle used to appoint Lok Sabha members is the Universal Adult Franchise.
  • The speaker of Lok Sabha is one among the members of the House and no proceedings can take place in his/her absence.
  • A total of 543 constituencies take part in the Lok Sabha elections
  • The eligibility requirements of a Lok Sabha member includes: he/she must be an Indian citizen with a minimum of 25 years in age, must not have a criminal record, must be enrolled for elections from any part of the country and must be educationally qualified under the law made by Parliament. 

For aspirants who wish to know the difference between Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, can visit the linked article.

Further below in this article, you shall find the list of Members of Lok Sabha and some sample questions based on the upcoming competitive exams.

Other Related Links:

List of Lok Sabha Members – States/Union Territories

Currently, the strength of Lok Sabha in the Parliament is 545, in which 530 members are State representatives, 13 are representatives from Union Territories and 2 are nominated by the Presidents who belong to the Anglo-Indian community.

To know more about the Members of Parliament, you can visit the linked article.

Given below is a table which mentions the state-wise list of Lok Sabha members. Candidates can download the Lok Sabha members list PDF below:

List of 17th Lok Sabha Members – States/Union Territories
Name of State/ Union Territory Number of Lok Sabha Seats Download the List of Lok Sabha Members PDF
States Andhra Pradesh 25 Download PDF Here
Assam 14 Download PDF Here
Bihar 39 Download PDF Here
Chhattisgarh 11 Download PDF Here
Gujarat 26 Download PDF Here
Haryana  10 Download PDF Here
Jharkhand  14 Download PDF Here
Karnataka 28 Download PDF Here
Kerala 20 Download PDF Here
Madhya Pradesh 29 Download PDF Here
Maharashtra 48 Download PDF Here
Odisha 21 Download PDF Here
Punjab 13 Download PDF Here
Rajasthan  25 Download PDF Here
Uttar Pradesh 80 Download PDF Here
Tamil Nadu 39 Download PDF Here
Telangana 17 Download PDF Here
West Bengal 42 Download PDF Here
Manipur  2 Download PDF Here
Goa 2
Arunachal Pradesh 2
Meghalaya 2
Himachal Pradesh  4
Mizoram 1
Nagaland 1
Sikkim  1
Tripura 2
Uttrakhand 5
Union Territories Andaman & Nicobar Islands 1 Download PDF Here
Chandigarh 1
Dadra & Nagar Haveli 1
Daman & Diu 1
Jammu & Kashmir 6
Lakshadweep 1
NCT of Delhi 7
Puducherry 1

Government Exam 2022

Aspirants can check the syllabus for various Government exams given below and start their preparation accordingly:

Sample Questions – Members of Lok Sabha

Given below are a few frequently asked questions in terms of the multiple competitive exams conducted in the country.

Q 1. Who was the first Lok Sabha Speaker?

Answer: Ganesh Vasudev Mavalankar was the first speaker of Lok Sabha with a tenure of 4 years, starting from 1952 till 1956.

Q 2. What is the tenure of a Lok Sabha member?

Answer: The tenure of a Lok Sabha member is 5 years unless dissolved sooner

Q 3. Who has the power to introduce a Money Bill?

Answer: A Money Bill can only be introduced in the Lok Sabha with the approval of the Speaker. 

Q 4. What is a starred question in Lok Sabha?

Answer: When a Minister in the House of Parliament comes up with a question for a particular Minister and expects an oral explanation for the same, it is called a Lok Sabha starred question. 

Q 5. How many starred questions can be asked in a single Lok Sabha sitting?

Answer: A maximum of 20 Lok Sabha starred questions can be asked in a single day. 

Q 6. Who was the first woman speaker of the Lok Sabha?

Answer: Meira Kumar was the first-ever woman Lok Sabha speaker. She was the 15th Lok Sabha speakers and her tenure lasted for 5 years, starting from 2009 to 2014

The above-mentioned questions are for the reference of candidates and it must be noted that after elections which are conducted at intervals of every 5 years, the Lok Sabha members are replaced. 

Aspirants can get study material, preparation notes and tips for the upcoming Government exams at BYJU’S. 

Other Related Links:

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.