Unit of Electric Flux

When we study the topic of electromagnetism we come across the term electric flux.  Electric flux is the property of an electric field that may be thought of as the number of electric field lines that intersect a given area. Mathematically, it is represented as

Unit of Electric Flux

Where E is the electric field intensity and \(\underset{\Delta A}{\rightarrow}\) is the vector area. In the article, let us understand the unit of electric flux in detail.

What is Electric Flux?

We can define electric flux as the measure of the distribution of the electric field or the rate of flow of the electric field through a given area. This term is basically used to describe the electric field strength at any distance from the charge causing the field. It is expressed using the Greek symbol Phi: Φ

SI Unit of Electric Flux

Talking about the unit, the SI base unit of electric flux is voltmeters (V m) which is also equal to newton-meters squared per coulomb (N m2 C-1). Besides, the base units of electric flux are kg·m3·s-3·A-1.

 Electrical Flux SI Unit: Voltmeters (V m), or, N m2 C1

Dimensional formula of electric flux

In electromagnetism, electric flux is the measure of the distribution of the electric field through a given surface. the dimensional formula of electric flux is [M L3 T−3 A−1]

Related Articles


Test your knowledge on Unit Of Electric Flux

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *




Free Class