Indian Biodiversity Awards

Biodiversity refers to all the variety of life on Earth. The term includes every living being on the planet—from humans to plants, animals, microorganisms, microbes, genes, fungi, as well as their entire communities extending to ecosystems such as forests and coral reefs, among others.

For several decades, human dominance on Earth has caused rapid depletion of our ecosystem that has put our planet’s biodiversity in jeopardy.

The India Biodiversity Awards herald the urgency of conservation and management of India’s ecological system and biodiversity governance.

The India Biodiversity Awards 2021 were recently announced. The awardees are felicitated with a cash prize, memento, and a certificate. In this article, all IAS exam and other competitive exams aspirants can find details of the Biodiversity award winners list and categories for which it is given.

Preparing for the upcoming civil services exam? Complement it with the links given below:

What are the India Biodiversity Awards?

The India Biodiversity Awards were launched in 2012 as a joint initiative by the Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change (MoEFCC), National Biodiversity Authority (NBA), and the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP).

The initiative was undertaken to acknowledge the efforts of individuals, communities, and institutions’ efforts to conserve and sustain India’s biological resources.

The second, third, fourth, and fifth Best Biodiversity Board Awards in India were held in 2014, 2016, 2018, and 2021 respectively, in partnership with the National Biodiversity Authority.

What are the Categories of the Indian Biodiversity Awards?

Individuals or institutions who have been working for the past five years towards any of the following categories are eligible to apply for the award.

The categories are as follows—

1. Conservation of Wile and Domesticated Species

There are two awards in each category–a total of four awards—one each for individuals or institutions working towards conserving and restoring animal species and their habitats.

2. Sustainable Use of Biological Resources

There are two awards in this category—one each for individuals or institutions working towards sustainable use of biological resources and efficient natural resource management.

3. Replicable mechanisms for access and Benefit Sharing

There is one award in this category for individuals or institutions who provide monetary or non-monetary benefits for communities and stakeholders of biological resources.

4. Best Biodiversity Management Committee

There is one award in this category for Biodiversity Management Committees doing exceptional work in documentation of biological resources, generating awareness, and promoting best.

Other UPSC Syllabus related links are given below:

Species, Genetics & Ecosystem Biodiversity

What is Biodiversity Conservation and its Importance?

Biodiversity Hotspots in India

Biological Diversity Act, India [2002]

United Nations Convention on Biological Diversity

National Green Tribunal (NGT)

In Summary

NBA has announced the applications for the National Biodiversity Awards 2023. The winners will receive a Memento, a Certificate, and a cash prize of Rs. 5 lakhs under each category. In addition, two certificates of appreciation will be given in each category with a cash prize of Rs. 1 lakh each.

Frequently Asked Questions on Indian Biodiversity Awards


When were the Biodiversity Awards 2021 announced?

The Minister of Environment of the Government of India announced Biodiversity Awards 2021 in a virtual celebration on 22 May 2021 on the occasion of the International Day of Biological Diversity.


Who won the India Biodiversity Award 2021 in the individual category of conservation of domesticated species?

Shaji. N.M., also known as the ‘Tuber Man’ of Kerala, was awarded the India Biodiversity Award 2021 in the category of conservation of domesticated species.


Who won the India Biodiversity Award (2021) in the Institution Category of the Sustainable Use of Biological Resources?

Krishi Avam Paristhitiki Vikas Sansthan (KRAPAVIS) won the India Biodiversity Awards 2021 under the Sustainable Use of Biological Resources category to restore water and harvesting structures in Orans—a sacred community-conserved area in Rajasthan.Khonoma Nature Conservation & Tragopan Sanctuary (KNCTS) also won the India Biodiversity Awards 2021 under Sustainable Use of Biological Resources category for maintaining biodiversity in the Khonoma area in Nagaland—home to several endemic species of flora and fauna.


What does the Award comprise of?

The winners of the India Biodiversity Awards are usually given a Memento, a Certificate, and a cash prize of Rs. 2 lakhs each for individuals and Rs. 5 lakhs each for institutions.


When was the Biological Diversity Act enacted?

The Biological Diversity Act was enacted in 2002 and the Biological Diversity Rules were notified in 2004.


What is the National Biodiversity Authority?

The Government of India established the National Biodiversity Authority (NBA) under Section 8 of the Act. It is an autonomous and statutory body performing regulatory and advisory roles to Ministries of Government of India and other agencies on conservation issues of biodiversity and its sustainable use.

Other Related Links

Environment And Ecology Notes For UPSC

Topic-Wise GS 3 Questions for UPSC Mains

UPSC Prelims Previous Year Environment and Ecology Questions

Environment & Ecology Questions in UPSC Mains GS-3

Environment Questions & Answers for UPSC

UPSC MCQ On Environment – IAS Prelims


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.