Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (AERB): Notes for UPSC

The primary institution tasked to look at issues regarding everything related to nuclear safety is the Atomic Energy Regulatory Board. It was constituted on 15 November 1983 by the President of India by exercising the powers conferred by Section 27 of the Atomic Energy Act, 1962.

Aspirants would find this topic very helpful in the IAS Exam.

UPSC candidates appearing for the exam this year can attempt the CSAT Mock Test to assess their preparation!!

To complement your preparation for the upcoming exam, check the following links:

What is the main mission of the AERB?

The mission of the Board is to ensure that the use of ionizing radiation and nuclear energy in India does not cause undue risk to health and the environment. Currently, the Board consists of a full-time Chairman, an ex officio Member, three part-time Members, and a Secretary.

Who is the Chairman of the AERB?

Nageshwara Rao Guntur has been appointed as the Chairman of the Atomic Energy Regulatory Board (AERB) as per an order issued by the Ministry of Personnel, Government of India. He was appointed as the Chairman in the year 2018, for a tenure of 3 years.

Which other safety bodies support the AERB?

AERB receives advice from the Advisory Committee on Nuclear Safety (ACNS). The ACNS is composed of experts from AERB, DAE (Department of Atomic Energy, which was formed on August 3rd, 1954), and institutions outside the DAE. ACNS provides recommendations on the safety codes, Guides, and manuals prepared for siting, design, construction, operation, quality assurance, and decommissioning/life extension of nuclear power plants which have been prepared by the respective advisory committees for each of these areas.

Is AERB a statutory body?

In 1980, a committee headed by Shri V.N.Meckoni  had recommended that AERB should be made as a statutory body. Currently, AERB is functioning as per the recommendations of the Shri V.N.Meckoni Committee.

What is eLORA in radiology?

eLORA stands for e-licensing of Radiation Applications. As per the statutory requirement given by AERB, all medical radiation facilities in India (nuclear medicine/radiotherapy/diagnostic radiology) have to mandatorily obtain a license from the eLORA platform, which is a web-based application on the AERB website.

AERB:- Download PDF Here

What is the AERB registration?

All institutes in possession of medical diagnostic x-ray equipment must mandatorily obtain a license for operation from AERB. This is can be done by registering at e-governance platform eLORA (e-licensing of Radiation Applications).

The UPSC Syllabus page is the best source of information about the general pattern of the exam. For more UPSC related preparation materials and articles, visit the links given in the table below:

Related Links



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *