Difference Between the Non-Cooperation Movement and Civil Disobedience Movement

The non-cooperation and the civil disobedience movements were landmark moments during  India’s independence struggle. Both played a key role in ensuring that India’s independence from British rule was guaranteed on 15th August 1947 and both were the brainchild of Mahatma Gandhi.

Although both the movements had the complete independence of India in mind, the manner in which they were executed and the methodology employed were remarkably different.

The non-cooperation movement sought the attention of the British colonial authorities by bringing the government to a standstill. 

The civil disobedience movement sought to paralyze the government by breaking a specific set of rules and administration.

Difference Between Non-Cooperation and Civil Disobedience Movement- UPSC Modern Indian History

This article will further highlight the difference between non-cooperation movement and civil-disobedience movement for the IAS Exam

The differences between the non-cooperation movement and civil-disobedience movement are given in the table below:                                                                        

Differences between the Non-cooperation and Civil-Disobedience Movements



It was launched on  September 5th, 1920 and it ended on 5th February 1922 It began on March 12, 1930, through the launch of the Salt Satyagraha
The Non-Cooperation Movement sought to bring the working of the government to a standstill by not cooperating with the administration. The Civil Disobedience Movement was an attempt at paralysing the administration by breaking some specific rules and regulations.
There was large scale participation of Muslim working class in the Non-Cooperation movement The Civil-Disobedience movement saw less participation from the Muslim community due to the policy of divide and rule by the British and the communal propaganda of the Muslim League and the Hindu Mahasabha
The non-cooperation movement was geographically confined to certain parts of India The civil disobedience movement saw widespread geographical coverage and mass participation in comparison to the non-cooperation movement
The movement was called off in 1922 due to the Chauri-Chaura incident  (Occurred on Feb 5th, 1922) The movement was withdrawn after the signing of the Gandhi-Irwin pact

Both the Non-cooperation movement and civil disobedience movement are covered under the  Modern Indian History segment of the UPSC Exams. The following links will help candidates with the segment:

Difference Between the Non-Cooperation Movement and Civil Disobedience Movement – Download PDF Here

Aspirants can find more Difference Between Articles, by visiting the linked page

Candidates can find the general pattern of the UPSC Exams by visiting the UPSC Syllabus page. For more articles and exam-related preparation materials, refer to the links given in the table below:

Related Links


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *