What is National Civil Aviation Policy?

The National Civil Aviation Policy was released in 2016 by the Government of India. This is the first time a comprehensive civil aviation policy was formulated since independence. This policy comprehensively addresses matters concerning 22 areas of the Indian civil aviation sector. The main crux of the civil aviation policy is to make air travel affordable and convenient to the common people and to make regional air connectivity a reality.  

Aspirants would find this topic very helpful in the IAS Exam.

What are some of the Main Features of National Civil Aviation Policy 2016?

National civil aviation policy 2016 covers 22 areas of the civil aviation sector. The list of some of the key features of the policy is given below.

  1. Regional Connectivity Scheme – Airfares would be around Rs 2500 per passenger for one-hour flight, plans for revival of airports, and there will be various concessions offered.
  2. Route Dispersal Guidelines – Policies framed for Category I, II and IIA.
  3. 5/20 Requirement – Airlines can commence international operations provided they deploy 20 aircraft or 20% of the total capacity for domestic operations.
  4. Bilateral Traffic Rights – Government of India will enter into ‘Open Sky’ agreement with SAARC countries and countries beyond 5000 km on a reciprocal basis.
  5. Ground Handling Policy – This feature of the policy looks into ground handling regulations, number of ground handling agencies in non major airports, freedom to carry out self handling by airline operators etc.
  6. Airports PPP/AAI – It encourages development of airports by Airport Authority of India (AAI) on Public Private Partnership Model (PPP).
  7. Aviation Security, Immigration and Customs – This is concerning the security apparatus for airports and carriers.
  8. MRO – It provides provisions covering Maintenance, Repair and Overhaul (MRO), the MRO business is around Rs 5000 crores.
  9. Helicopters and Charters – Separate regulations for helicopters.
  10. Aviation education and policy – Civil aviation sector would have a requirement of around 3.3 lakh direct employment by 2025. This feature provides provisions for addressing the employment requirements.

What is the UDAN Scheme?

Ude Desh ka Aam Nagarik (UDAN) is a regional connectivity scheme of the Government of India. The main objective of the scheme is to make air travel affordable and convenient for the common man.

Which are the Connectivity Schemes of India?

The below schemes of the Government of India are related to increasing connectivity through various modes of transport.

  1. Udaan – Increasing connectivity through air travel.
  2. Bharatmala – Increasing connectivity through Roads and Highways projects.
  3. Sagar Mala – Increasing connectivity through waterways and coastline.
  4. Digital India – Increasing connectivity through online mode.


The above details would help candidates prepare for UPSC 2020.

Related Links


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *