Subhash Chandra Bose Aapda Prabandhan Puraskar

Following a calamity, members of our society band together to help those who have been touched by the event. Community-based organisations, altruistic volunteers, devoted NGOs, conscientious business, academic & research institutions, and individuals typically supplement the government’s efforts to save lives through mitigation, risk reduction, effective response, and improved rebuilding. Many organisations and people are quietly but continuously working on disaster mitigation and preparedness in order to reduce the effect of future disasters.

The topic has a high probability of being asked as a Current Affairs Question and as Disaster Management Questions in IAS Prelims and Mains. Visit the attached link to attempt practice quizzes on current affairs.

Note: As UPSC 2022 approaches, use BYJU’S free Daily Video Analysis of The Hindu Newspaper to augment your preparation.

About Aapda Prabandhan Puraskar

The Government of India has established an annual award to acknowledge outstanding efforts in the field of disaster management by people and institutions in India. Aapda Prabandhan Puraskaar was named after Subhash Chandra Bose.

The administrative responsibilities regarding the award lies with the National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA).

  • Up to three prizes will be given out. These prizes are open to both institutions and individuals.
  • A certificate and a cash reward of Rs. 51 lakhs will be given to the awardee if it is an institution. This cash incentive will only be used for Disaster Management related initiatives by the Institution.
  • The winner will get a certificate and a monetary reward of Rs. 5.00 lakhs if the awardee is a person.
  • The prize is only open to Indian people and Indian institutions.
  • Voluntary associations, business entities, academic/research institutions, response/uniformed units, and any other entity are eligible to apply for institutional awards.
  • A contender for this award can be nominated by any Indian national or institution. Self-nomination is also an option for candidates.
  • An institution’s application does not exclude any individual from that institution from applying for the prize in his or her own right.
  • Every year on January 23rd, on the birth anniversary of Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose, the winners of the award are announced.

Note: Visit the attached link to read more about Disaster Management in India for the UPSC exam.

Note: IAS exam could ask basic details about this topic as it has been in the news recently.

Award Criteria

In India, the entrant must have had worked in disaster management related fields such as Research, Innovation, Relief, Rehabilitation, Early Warning, Rescue, Response, Mitigation, Preparedness, and/or Prevention.

The application must include specifics of disaster management activities and must showcase accomplishments in one or more of the following categories:

  1. Raising public awareness about preparation and risk mitigation.
  2. Continued operation of critical infrastructure and basic services in the time of catastrophes.
  3. Recovery and rehabilitation following a calamity.
  4. In any sector of disaster management, technical/scientific research, and innovations.
  5. Advanced warning and real-time transmission of disaster risk information to the public.
  6. Community response and risk mitigation capacity development.
  7. Initiatives to avoid disasters in hazard prone locations.
  8. In every aspect of disaster management, innovative and effective utilisation technology.
  9. Prompt humanitarian operations in disaster stricken areas and communities.
  10. Mobilisation and allocation of resources for efficient crisis response.
  11. Lowering the effects of the disasters upon 
    1. Lives
    2. Livestock
    3. Livelihoods
    4. Property
    5. Society
    6. Economy
    7. Environment
  12. Saving human lives.
  13. Any other aspect of disaster risk management.

Note: Visit the attached link to see the Questions on Disaster Management in IAS mains exam.


The award was constituted to appreciate the efforts and work done by the civil society in the sector of disaster management to help the community in any way.

Note: Keep yourself up to date with the newest UPSC current affairs, where we explain the key news in an easy to understand way.

Note: You can make your current affairs revision robust using Free Monthly Magazines by BYJU’s.

Recent Developments

  • The Subhash Chandra Bose Aapda Prabandhan Puraskar 2022 has been awarded to Gujarat Institute of Disaster Management (in the Institutional category) and Professor Vinod Sharma (in the Individual category) for their outstanding contributions to disaster management.

Start your IAS Exam preparation by understanding the UPSC Syllabus in depth and planning your approach accordingly.

Subhash Chandra Bose Aapda Prabandhan Puraskar [UPSC Notes]:-Download PDF Here

Related Links:

Pradhan Mantri Innovative Learning Programme (DHRUV) YUKTI – Young India Combating COVID Knowledge Technology Innovation
List of Space Centres and Indian Space Agencies National Educational Alliance for Technology (NEAT) 3.0
Live Streaming of Court Proceedings in India – Draft Rules Sage Senior Care Ageing Growth Engine
Gujarat High Court (Live Streaming of Court Proceedings) Rules, 2021 National Mission of Justice Delivery and Legal Reforms


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.