State Flowers in India PDF

While the lotus is the national flower in India, every Indian state and union territory has a separate state flower. These chosen state flowers act as a symbol of the state and depict Indian diversity. In every competitive exam, students get at least one question related to state flower names or the national flower name of India. So if you are preparing for any state examination, it is better to know the different state flower names and their scientific titles.

This is an important topic from the IAS exam perspective and candidates preparing for any other government exam must refer to the list given below for general awareness preparation.

Also, the list of state animals in India is important from the current affairs perspective of competitive exams.

List of Various State Flower Names

Here is the tabular representation of various state flower names along with their scientific names.


Flower Name

Scientific Name

Andhra Pradesh

Water lily


Arunachal Pradesh

Lady’s Slipper



Foxtail Orchids

Rhynchostylis gigantea


Pot Marigold (Genda)

Calendula officinalis


Marigold (Galgota)

Tagetes erecta



Nelumbo nucifera

Himachal Pradesh


Rhododendron ponticum

Jammu and Kashmir

Common Rhododendron

Rhododendron ponticum


Parrot Tree

Butea monosperma



Nelumbo nucifera


Golden Shower Tree

Cassia fistula


Lady’s Slipper


Madhya Pradesh

Parrot Tree

Butea monosperma



Lagerstroemia speciosa


Siroi Lily

Lilium mackliniae


Red Vanda

Renanthera imschootiana



Rhododendron ponticum



Saraca asoca


Cannonball tree’s Flower

Couroupita guianensis



Tecomella undulata


Noble orchid

Cymbidium goeringii

Tamil Nadu

Glory lily

Gloriosa superba


Senna auriculata



Nag Kesar

Mesua ferrea


Brahma Kamal

Saussurea obvallata

Uttar Pradesh


Butea monosperma

West Bengal

Night-flowering Jasmine

Nyctanthes arbor-tristis

List of Current Affairs Articles for UPSC

Learning More about the National Flower Of India – Lotus

In the year 2017, as a response to one of the Right to Information questions, it was revealed that the Botanic Survey of India (BSI) has not specified any flower as the National Flower of India. However, the official Indian Government website mentions Lotus as the National Flower of the country. Some of the reasons Lotus is the national flower of India are as follows:

  • The National Emblem of India, adopted on 26th January 1950, stands on a full blossomed inverted Lotus flower depicting the significance of the flower.
  • Lotus embodies magnificence and symbolizes non-attachment
  • Even after blooming in the dirt, Lotus’s smell of myrrh is taken as a message to humanity.

For more facts about the National Flower of India, visit the linked article.

Quick Facts about the National Flower of India

The National flower in India is crucial to the Indian essence and heritage. Indian citizens of all demographics across the globe are proud of India’s National Flower as it infuses a sense of dignity and nationalism in every Indian’s heart.

Even after India holds abundant flora, Lotus stands out from others. Lotus holds a message to deliver to mankind. Even when Lotus is the epitome of magnificence, it embodies non-attachment. Below are some of the key highlights of the national flower of India:

  • The National flower of India is the idol of utmost candor. The Hindu faith and folklore depict goddess Saraswathi sitting on a lotus flower as a goddess of Wisdom/Education
  • Lotus blossoms in freshwater lakes in the semi tropical conditions
  • The national flower of India is found in red, white, blue, purple and pink colors and is seen predominantly in Asian nations
  • Lotus signifies prosperity, enchantment, wisdom, productiveness and enlightenment. In India, it is regarded as the sign of victory
  • It is a holy flower and inhabits a distinct place in the art and folklore of ancient India
  • Along with cultural value, the seeds of Lotus flowers are used for healing purposes like the treatment of the spleen, heart ailments and kidney
  • The leaf, seeds, roots and leaf stalk of the Lotus are edible and people consume them as a vegetable in India
  • It has been a wealth symbol of Indian culture since ancient times
  • Lotus is valued and regarded as a sacred flower in Buddhism culture as well

Aspirants reading about National Flower of India, can also read about other National Symbols of India linked in the table below:

Frequently Asked Questions on State Flowers in India

What is the name of the state flower of Uttar Pradesh?

Palash is the name of state flower of Uttar Pradesh

What is the name of the state flower in Madhya Pradesh?

The state flower name of Madhya Pradesh is Parrot Tree.

Brahmakamal is the national flower of which state?

Brahmakamal is the national flower of Uttarakhand.

What does the golden Lotus signify?

Golden Lotus signifies complete enlightenment.

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *