What are Inter-State Water Disputes?

Inter state water disputes arise when there is a dispute between two or more states on the use, distribution and control of rivers flowing in two or more states. To resolve the issues The Parliament of India had enacted Inter-State River Water Disputes (ISRWD) Act, 1956. When the concerned states cannot resolve disputes through negotiations then the Central Government will constitute a water dispute tribunal for resolving the water dispute.

Aspirants would find this topic very helpful in the IAS Exam.

How Many Water Dispute Tribunals are there in India?

Currently there are 5 water dispute tribunals in India, the list of tribunals are given below.

  1. Ravi and Beas Water Tribunal – Constituted in 1986, dispute between Punjab, Haryana and Punjab.
  2. Krishna Water Disputes Tribunal (II) – Constituted in 2004, dispute between Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, Maharashtra and Telangana.
  3. Vansadhara Water Disputes Tribunal – Constituted in 2010, dispute between Andhra Pradesh and Odisha.
  4. Mahadayi Water Disputes Tribunal – Constituted in 2010, dispute between Goa, Karnataka and Maharashtra.
  5. Mahanadi Water Disputes Tribunal – Constituted in 2018, dispute between Odisha and Chhattisgarh.

Which State of India has no River?

All the states in India have one or more rivers flowing through its territory. Hence the number of states in India having no river flowing through it is zero.

What is the Inter-State River Water Disputes Amendment Bill?

The Inter-State Water Disputes Amendment Bill was introduced in the Lok Sabha by the Ministry of Water Resources in 2017.  The Bill sought to bring a few amendments in the ISRWD Act 1956. The bill was referred to the Parliamentary standing committee which has given its recommendations in 2017. The bill is yet to be passed by the Parliament.


The above details would help candidates prepare for UPSC 2020.

Related Links


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *