Major Committees of the Indian Constituent Assembly and their Chairmen

In 1946, the Constituent Assembly met for the first time in New Delhi in the Constitution Hall which is currently known as the Central Hall of Parliament House. The Constitution of India was drafted by several eminent people in various fields.

Dr. B R Ambedkar is the chief architect of the Constitution of India. As per Article 395, the Government of India Act of 1935 and the Indian Independence Act of 1947 got substituted with the beginning of the Constitution of India.

The Constituent Assembly selected 22 committees to deal with diverse tasks of Constitution-making. Out of these, 10 were on procedural affairs and 12 on substantive affairs.  Here we are giving the major committees of the Indian Constitution and their Chairmen which will be useful for UPSC IAS Exam.

Drafting committee members

Chairman – Dr. BR Ambedkar


  • N Gopalaswamy Ayyangar
  • Mohammed Saadullah
  • Alladi Krishna swami Ayyar
  • KM Munshi
  • BL Mittar substituted by N Madhava Rao following his resignation on health issues
  • Dr. DP Khaitan (died in 1948 and was substituted by TT Krishnamachari)
The committees of Procedural affairs include:
  • Steering Committee
  • Rules of Procedure Committee
  • Committee on the effect of Indian Independence Act of 1947
  • Orders of Business Committee Credentials Committee
  • House Committee
  • Hindi Translation Committee
  • Urdu Translation Committee
  • Finance and Staff Committee
  • Press Gallery Committee
The committees of substantive affairs include

Major Committees of the Indian Constituent Assembly


Ad hoc Committee on the National flag

Rajendra Prasad

Advisory Committee on Fundamental Rights,

Vallabhbhai Patel

Committee on the Functions of the Constituent Assembly

G.V. Mavalankar

Committee on Minorities and Tribal and Excluded Areas

Vallabhbhai Patel

Committee on the Rules of Procedure

Rajendra Prasad

Special Committee to Examine the Draft Constitution

Alladi Krishnaswami Ayyar

Provincial Constitution Committee

Vallabhbhai Patel

Drafting Committee

B.R. Ambedkar

Excluded and Partially Excluded Areas  Sub-Committee

A.V. Thakkar

Finance and Staff Committee

Rajendra Prasad

Fundamental Rights Sub-Committee

J.B. Kripalani

House Committee

B. Pattabhi Sitaramayya

Minorities Sub-Committee

H.C. Mukherjee

North-East Frontier Tribal Areas and Assam, Excluded and Partially Excluded Areas Sub-Committee

Gopinath Bardoloi

Order of Business Committee

K.M. Munshi

States Committee

Jawaharlal Nehru

Steering Committee

Rajendra Prasad

Union Constitution Committee

Jawaharlal Nehru

Union Powers Committee

Jawaharlal Nehru

Tune into for more strategy articles and news on UPSC Civil Services IAS Exam

Also see-

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *