NCERT Notes: Third And Fourth Anglo-Mysore Wars [Modern Indian History For UPSC]

NCERT notes on important topics for the IAS aspirants. These notes will also be useful for other competitive exams like Bank PO, SSC, state civil services exams and so on. This article talks about the Third and Fourth Anglo-Mysore Wars.

The Anglo-Mysore Wars were a series of four wars between the British and the Kingdom of Mysore in the latter half of the 18th century in Southern India.

Third Anglo-Mysore War (1786 – 1792)

Causes of the war:

  • The British started improving their relationship with the Nizam of Hyderabad and the Marathas.
  • Tipu Sultan, who assumed control of Mysore after Hyder Ali’s death, had French help in bettering his military resources.
  • He also refused to free the English prisoners taken during the second Anglo-Mysore war as per the Treaty of Mangalore.

Course of the war:

  • Tipu declared war on Travancore in 1789. Travancore was a friendly state of the British.
  • In 1790, the Governor-General of Bengal, Lord Cornwallis declared war on Tipu.
  • Tipu was defeated in the first phase of the war and his forces had to retreat.
  • Later the English advanced towards Tipu’s capital of Seringapatam and Tipu had to bargain for peace.

Result of the war:

  • The war ended with the Treaty of Seringapatam in 1792.
  • As per the treaty, Tipu had to cede half of his kingdom to the English including the areas of Malabar, Dindigul, Coorg and Baramahal.
  • He also had to pay Rs.3 Crore as war indemnity to the British.
  • Tipu also had to surrender two of his sons as surety to the British till he paid his due.

Fourth Anglo-Mysore War (1799)

Causes of the war:

  • The Treaty of Seringapatam failed to bring peace between Tipu and the English.
  • Tipu also refused to accept the Subsidiary Alliance of Lord Wellesley.
  • Tipu aligned with the French which the British saw as a threat.

Course of the war:

  • Mysore was attacked from all four sides.
  • The Marathas and the Nizam invaded from the North.
  • Tipu’s troops were outnumbered 4:1.
  • The British secured a decisive victory at the Battle of Seringapatam in 1799.
  • Tipu died while defending the city.

Result of the war:

  • Tipu’s territories were divided between the British and the Nizam of Hyderabad.
  • The core area around Seringapatam and Mysore was restored to the Wodeyar dynasty who had been ruling Mysore before Hyder Ali became the de-facto ruler.
  • Mysore entered into a Subsidiary Alliance with the British and a British resident was placed at the Mysore Court.
  • The Kingdom of Mysore remained a princely state not directly under the British until 1947 when it chose to join the Indian Union.

Also Read | NCERT Notes: The First and Second Anglo-Mysore Wars

UPSC Books List PDF :-Download PDF Here



UPSC Preparation

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *