Administrative Tribunals in India – UPSC Prelims Exam Preparation

The administrative tribunals are not a unique creation of the Political System of India. They are well recognized in the United States of America and in the all democratic countries Europe. Tribunals were incorporated in the Indian Constitution by 42nd Amendment Act, 1976. Article 323-A of Indian constitution deals with Administrative Tribunals where Article 323-B deals with tribunals for other matters. In a broad sense, the ‘tribunals’ are not courts of normal jurisdiction, but they have very particular and predefined work area.

Armed Forces Tribunal

Principal Bench – New Delhi

Benches: Mumbai, Lucknow, Chennai, Kochi, Jaipur, Guwahati, Kolkata, and Chandigarh

The AFT or armed Tribunal was established for the settlement of the disputes and grievances about appointments, commission, staffing and service situations in respect of those concealed by the Three Services Act, and hearing of appeals budding out of orders, verdicts or sentences of court-martial. The tribunal will have appellate jurisdiction in court-martial matters and original jurisdiction in service matters.

National Green Tribunal

Principal Bench – New Delhi

Benches: Kolkata, Chennai, Bhopal and Pune

The National Green Tribunal / NGT is set up for the effective and speedy clearance of cases relating to environmental protection and preservation of forests and other natural resources comprising an implementation of any legal right concerning to environment and giving assistance and compensation of damages to individuals and property and for problems related therewith.


Central administrative tribunal

Principal bench – New Delhi

Benches : Jabalpur, Ahmedabad, Ranchi, Bengaluru, Lucknow, Mumbai, , Cuttack, Nagpur, Kolkata, Chandigarh, Cochin, jodhpur, Jaipur,  Guwahati, Hyderabad,  Gwalior, Indore, Chennai, Patna, and Allahabad.

The Central Administrative Tribunal is set up for settlement of disputes with respect to recruitment and conditions of service of individuals appointed to public services and posts in association with the affairs of the Union or other local establishments within the territory of India or under the control of Government of India and for matters related therewith. This was done in the enactment of the amendment of Constitution of India by Articles 323A.

 Railway Claims Tribunal

Principal Bench – New Delhi

Benches: Chennai, Ahmedabad, Secunderabad, Bhubaneswar, Calcutta, Ernakulam, Bhopal, Chandigarh, Nagpur, Guwahati, Bangalore, Ghaziabad, Jaipur, Lucknow, Mumbai, Patna, and Gorakhpur

Railway Claims Tribunal was established for the quick arbitration, giving assistance to rail users by way of prompt payment of reimbursement to the fatalities of rail accident or unfortunate incident, repayment of fare and freight and compensation to those whose good are mislaid while with railways.


Also Read:


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *