10 Women Freedom Fighters for UPSC Exam

Freedom fighters and their contributions are an important part of the modern Indian history for UPSC exam. In this article, you will get a list of the most prominent women freedom fighters of the country for the IAS exam.

The historical backdrop of the Indian Freedom Struggle would be incomplete without citing the contributions of women. The sacrifice made by the women of India will occupy the primary place. They fought with real spirit and undeterred bravery and confronted several pains, exploitations, and sufferings to win us freedom.

Rani Lakshmi Bai of Jhansi

  • 19 November 1828 – 17 June 1858
  • In her confrontation with the British, she was a sign of courage, patriotism, self-respect, perseverance, generosity.

 Sarojini Naidu

  • February 13, 1879 – march 2, 1949
  • The nightingale of India.
  • She was a distinguished poet, renowned freedom fighter, and a great orator.
  • She was elected as the president of the Indian National Congress.
  • She campaigned for the Khilafat Movement.

Madam Bhikaji Cama

  • 24 September 1861– 13 August 1936
  • In 1907, she expanded the first National Flag at the International Socialist Conference in Germany.

Begum Hazrat Mahal

  • 1820—1879
  • She was also known as the Begum of Awadh.
  • She played a major role during India’s First War of independence (1857-58).
  • During India’s First War of Independence, she worked with Nana Sahib, Tantia tope, etc.
  • On 10th May 1984, Government of India issued a stamp to commemorate Begum Hazrat Mahal.

Annie Besant

  • October 1, 1847 – September 20, 1933
  • She was an Irish lady and the founder of the Theosophical Society.
  • She joined the Indian National Congress and involved in political and educational activities.
  • She was the first woman president of the Congress.
  • In 1916, she established the Indian Home Rule League.
  • She started a newspaper, “New India.”
  • She set up a number of schools and colleges including Central Hindu College High School at Banaras (1913).

Aruna Asaf Ali

  • July 16, 1909-July 29, 1996
  • Aruna was an active member of the Congress Party .
  • She had participated in public marches during the Salt Satyagraha.
  • She edited ‘In qulab’ a monthly journal of the Indian National Congress.
  • She is prevalently known as the Grand Old Lady of the Independence Movement.
  • She is known for hoisting the Indian National Congress flag in Bombay during the Quit India Movement.

Usha Mehta

  • March 25, 1920 – August 11, 2000
  • She was known for broadcasting the Congress Radio (an underground radio station).

Kasturba Gandhi

  • April 11, 1869 – February 22, 1944
  • She was a leader of Women’s Satyagraha.
  • She participated with Indigo workers in Champaran, Bihar, the No Tax Campaign, and Rajkot Satyagraha.

Kamala Nehru

  • 1899–1936
  • She planned parades, led picketing of liquor and foreign cloth shops.
  • She played a crucial part in consolidating the No Tax Campaign in the United Provinces.

Vijaya Lakshmi Pundit

  • August 18, 1900 – December 1, 1990
  • She was the daughter of Motilal Nehru.
  • She was a president of the Congress.
  • She entered the Non Co-operation Movement to fight against the British rule.
  • She represented India in many of conferences abroad.
  • She was arrested in 1940 and again during the Quit India Movement in 1942.


Tune into byjus.com/free-ias-prep for more strategy articles and news on UPSC Civil Services IAS Exam

Also See: