Indonesia: Brief facts for the UPSC Exam

Indonesia is a transcontinental country located between the Indian Ocean and the Pacific Ocean. India has a long-standing relationship with Indonesia for almost two millennia marked by cultural exchange and ancient maritime links. Thus it is quite prudent for aspirants to know a little bit about this nation.

Aspirants would find the contents of this article very helpful in the IAS Exam.

You can get some golden tips from the IAS Toppers themselves to sharpen the edge you need to crack one the toughest examinations in the country. Visit the linked article now!!

The following links will strengthen your UPSC preparation:

Interesting Facts about Indonesia

Some of the interesting facts about Indonesia are listed below.

  1. It is the World’s largest Island Country with more than 17,000 islands.
  2. It has the 4th largest population in the world.
  3. It is the country having the highest Muslim population, India is ranked at 2nd position for the same.
  4. World’s most populous island in the world is Java, it is in Indonesia.
  5. Indonesia was one of the founding members of the Non-Aligned Movement along with India.

How is the Relation between India and Indonesia?

 Indians have visited Indonesia since ancient times, and ancient Indonesian (Austronesian people) have embarked in maritime trade in Southeast Asian seas and the Indian Ocean. The Ancient Indians spread Hinduism and many other aspects of Indian culture including the Sanskrit and Brahmi Script. The trace of Indian influences is most evident in great numbers of Sanskrit loanwords in Indonesian languages.

  1. Both countries have agreed to establish a strategic relationship.
  2. India’s Andaman and Nicobar Islands share a maritime boundary with Indonesia.
  3. India and Indonesia were among the 5 founders of the Non-Aligned Movement.
  4. India has established better economic ties with Indonesia through the Free Trade Agreement (FTA) signed with ASEAN (Association of South-East Asian Nations).
  5. In the Indonesian Dance and Drama traditions, Ramayana is a major theme.
  6. On the sidelines of the G20 summit in 2019 held at Osaka, India and Indonesia set an ambitious target of increasing the bilateral trade between 2 nations, to $ 50 billion by 2025.
  7. In the year 2016 Trade between India and Indonesia stood at $ 12.9 billion which rose to $ 18.13 billion in the year 2017 and it stood at $ 21.11 billion in the year 2018-19.
  8. In order to increase the trade and reduce the trade deficit, Indonesia has recently agreed to import rice, and sugar from India.
  9. India has offered a level playing field to Indonesia in the import of palm oils which were earlier skewed towards Malaysia.

Which Country Colonized Indonesia?

Indonesia was a colony of Dutch for many years. The country was overrun by the Imperial Japanese Army in March 1942 during World War 2. They attained freedom with the surrender of Japan in the year 1945. However, Dutch recognized the independence of Indonesia only in the year 1949, in the face of international pressure.

Indonesia – UPSC Notes:- Download PDF Here

Which are the Neighboring Countries of Indonesia?

Indonesia is the largest Southeast Asian nation. It shares land boundaries with the following nations.

  1. Papua New Guinea
  2. East Timor
  3. Malaysia.

It shares maritime boundaries with

  1. Singapore
  2. Philippines
  3. Vietnam
  4. Palau
  5. Australia

Frequently Asked Questions about Indonesia

What system of government is in Indonesia?

Indonesia is a presidential, constitutional republic with an elected legislature. It has 34 provinces, of which five have special status. The country’s capital, Jakarta, is the world’s second-most populous urban area.

What is the economy of Indonesia like?

The economy of Indonesia is the world’s 16th-largest by nominal GDP and the 7th-largest by PPP. It is a regional power and is considered a middle power in global affairs. The country is a member of several multilateral organisations, including the United Nations, World Trade Organization, G20,

For more articles and UPSC-related preparation materials in the links given below:

Related Links

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *