Pradhan Mantri Mahila Shakti Kendra Scheme (PMMSK)

The Pradhan Mantri Mahila Shakti Kendra (PMMSK) Scheme was approved by the Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs for a period of 3 years i.e., 2017-18 to 2019-2020. It was a result of the expansion of the schemes of the Ministry of Women and Child Development under the umbrella scheme “Mission for Protection and Empowerment for Women”. This is another government scheme that the students preparing for the IAS Exam and other Government Exams should consider important.

Kickstart your UPSC preparation now and complement your preparation with the links given below:

Objective of PMMSK

  • PMMSK Scheme will empower rural women through community participation to create an environment in which they realize their full potential.
  • PMMSKs will be set up across 115 most backward districts of the country in order to reach out to rural women and facilitate health, nutrition, skill development, employment, digital literacy, etc.

Components of MSK

PMMSK scheme is envisaged to work at various levels.

  • National Level:
    • At the national level structure, domain-based knowledge support will be provided by PMMSKs in order to promote the goals through the convergence of administrations of the states and UTs. Capacity build-up and training to enhance gender issue understanding will the point of focus at this level.
  • State Level:
    • At the State level structures, State Resource Centre for Women (SRCW) will be established to provide technical support to the respective government on issues related to women. The SRCW working under the State Governments will evaluate and review ongoing policies, programmes and legislative activities for better accessibility by the women in need.
  • District Level:
    • The District will provide support to PMMSK and also give a foothold to Beti Bachao Beti Padhao (BBBP), Sakhi – One Stop Centres, Mahila Police Volunteers, Swadhar, Ujjawala, women helpline, etc. This shall be covered in a phased manner.
  • Block Level:
    • The most significant initiatives will be at the block level wherein community engagement through student volunteers is planned in more than 100 backward districts where PMMSKs will be set up. They will cover Gram Panchayats or Anganwadi centres in the selected block. Services shall be provided at Gram Panchayat level through convergence with frontline workers such as Accredited Social Health Activists (ASHAs), Anganwadi Workers (AWW), Auxiliary Nurse Midwife (ANMs), Common Service Centres (CSCs), Women SHGs, Bank Correspondents, Shiksha Mitra, Krishi Mitra, Elected Women Representatives (EWRs), Protection Officers (VAW), Mahila Police Volunteers (MPV), Nyaya Mitra, etc.

Also read 6 Major Women Empowerment schemes Click Here.

UPSC aspirants can refer to the links given below for women empowerment schemes and initiatives:

SERB-POWER Scheme Nai Roshni Scheme
Sukanya Samriddhi Scheme – Beti Bachao Beti Padhao Campaign Surakshit Matritva Aashwasan Scheme (SUMAN)
Gender Inequality In India Nirbhaya Fund

NITI Ayog has suggested a mechanism for monitoring of outcome-based indicators. PMMSK Scheme will have an inbuilt monitoring structure at the Central, State, District and Block levels. In order to fulfil the objective of ensuring convergence of action and cost efficiency, a common task force shall be created at the district, state and national levels for planning, monitoring and reviewing all the sub-schemes under the Umbrella Scheme.

All the sub-schemes under “Mission for Protection and Empowerment for Women” aim at improving the declining child sex ratio, ensuring survival and protection of the girl child, ensuring her education and empowering her to fulfil her potential through capacity building.

Related Links:

Vatsalya Maatri Amrit Kosh Indecent Representation of Women Act (IRW)1986
Women Safety Division in the Ministry of Home Affairs Pradhan Mantri Bhartiya Janaushadhi Pariyojana
UPSC 2023 Indian Polity Notes For IAS Preparation


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.