ICSE Class 6 History and Civics Syllabus

The ICSE Class 6 Syllabus of History and Civics has been developed to make children understand the working of the world around them. This particular area of study equips the children with the knowledge and understanding of the past, which is necessary for coping with the present and planning for the future. The ICSE Syllabus helps in understanding the curricular area of Civics and makes them aware of socio-political life, whereas History will help them understand how their presence has evolved over centuries of development.

ICSE Class 6 History and Civics Syllabus PDF 2023-24

Download PDF Download PDF

Students can have a look at the core concepts of the History and Civics syllabus as provided below:

ICSE Class 6 History Syllabus – The Ancient World

Students can find the main topics to be covered in the History syllabus below. The subtopics of these have been provided in detail in the pdf.

Theme 1: The River Valley Civilizations

1) ‘Civilization’- meaning

2) Reasons for settlement near rivers

3) Major Civilizations:

  • Indus Valley
  • Mesopotamian
  • Egyptian
  • Chinese

4) Main Characteristics:

  • Origin
  • Location (*Map)
  • Rivers
  • Society
  • Social life – Family, Community
  • Town Planning
  • Occupations
  • Trade
  • Art and (Craft), Architecture
  • Religious Beliefs

5) Decline

Theme 2: The Vedic Civilization

1) Aryans in the Sapta Sindhu & Gangetic valley

2) ‘Vedas’ and ‘Vedic’ – meaning

3) The four Vedas, Upanishads, Puranas

4) Epics Ramayana & Mahabharata

5) Brahmavarta (Early Vedic age)

  • Political Organization
  • Social life
  • Economic life

6) Aryavarta (Later Vedic age)

  • Political Org.
  • Social Life
  • Four Ashramas

7) Gurukul System Economic life

Theme 3: Mahavira & Buddha – Great Preachers

1) Social conditions for rise of Jainism and Buddhism.

2) Vardhamana Mahavira

  • Jainism
  • Early life
  • Teachings (Ahimsa, Caste system, Karma, Rebirth, Search for truth)
  • Sub Sections of Jainism

3) Gautama Buddha

  • Buddhism
  • Early life
  • Teachings (Four Noble Truths, Eight Fold Path, Ahimsa, Karma, Nirvana, Caste System)
  • Sub Sections of Buddhism

4) A comparative study between Jainism and Buddhism

  • Spread and Decline.

Theme 4: Rise of Kingdoms & Republicans

1) Introduction to terms – Janapadas & Mahajanapadas.

2) Powerful Kingdoms

  • Vatsa
  • Avanti
  • Kosala
  • Magadha

3) Mighty Kingdom of Magadha:

  • Rulers (Bimbisara, Ajatashatru
  • Rule of Nandas
  • Alexander’s Invasion
  • Chandragupta Maurya (Brief Mention of his life before he became the ruler)

Theme 5: The Mauryan Empire

1) Sources: Indica & Arthashastra

2) Chandragupta Maurya

  • Role of Chanakya

3) Bindusara

4) Ashoka (Ascend to throne, extent of kingdom, Kalinga War, Welfare state)

5) Ashoka’s Dhamma & Edicts.

6) Mauryan Administration

  • With reference to Pataliputra

7) Mauryan Art and Economy

8) Decline.

Theme 5: The Golden Age – Gupta Empire

1) Sources: The history of the Gupta Empire

2) Rulers of the Gupta Empire:

  • Chandragupta I
  • Samudragupta
  • Chandragupta II

3) The Golden Age:

  • Features / Characteristics
  • Administration
  • Economy
  • Religious Life
  • Scientific Progress
  • Art, Architecture and Literature
  • Education

ICSE Class 6 Civics Syllabus

ICSE Class 6 Civics mainly consists of 2 topics. There are subtopics covered under them, which students can know by downloading the pdf from the above link.

Theme 1: The Rural Local Self Government

1) Local-Self Government meaning

2) Panchayati Raj System

  • Panchayats (Features and Functions)

3) Gram Sabha:

  • Gram Panchayat
  • Nyaya Panchayat

3) Block Samiti

  • Composition
  • Functions

4) Zila Parishads

  • Composition
  • Functions

Theme 2: Urban Local Self Government

1) Define the term – ‘Metropolitan’

2) Names of major cities– Kolkata, Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai

3) Municipal Corporations

4) Composition

5) Functions (Water Supply, Public health Sanitation, Education, Lighting, Public Security, Public Works, Maternity and Child Welfare)

6) Municipalities

We have compiled the syllabus of all the subjects of Class 6 ICSE. Students can access them by visiting the ICSE Class 6 Syllabus page at BYJU’S. Keep learning and stay tuned for further updates on ICSE/CBSE/State Board and other competitive exams.


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.