ICSE Class 10 Physics Syllabus

Indian Certificate of Secondary Education abbreviated as ICSE is a national examination for 10th standard students conducted by the Council for the Indian School Certificate Examinations (CISCE). ICSE exam is a prestigious examination which is known for its comprehensive and well-structured syllabus. The ICSE Class 10 Physics syllabus is provided here to help students prepare for their exam more effectively.

Download ICSE Class 10 Physics Revised Syllabus PDF for 2020-21

The latest ICSE Class 10 Physics Syllabus along with all the subtopics is given in the table mentioned below.

ICSE Class 10 Physics Syllabus

(Science Paper 1)
Sl. No. Chapter Name Subtopics
1 Force, Work, Power and Energy
  • Moment of a force, Turning forces concept, Centre of gravity, Forces in equilibrium
  • Uniform circular motion
  • Relations between work, energy, power
  • Different types of energy
  • Machines
  • Principle of Conservation of energy
2 Light
  • Refraction of light
  • Total internal reflection, Critical angle, Applications
  • Lenses (converging and diverging), Types of lenses
  • Using a triangular prism to produce a visible spectrum from white light, Electromagnetic spectrum
3 Sound
  • Reflection of Sound Waves
  • Natural vibrations, Damped vibrations, Force vibrations and Resonance
  • Loudness, pitch & quality of sound
4 Electricity and Magnetism
  • Ohm’s Law, concepts of emf, potential difference, resistance
  • Electrical power and energy
  • Household circuits
  • Magnetic effect of a current, electromagnetic induction
5 Heat
  • Calorimetry
  • Latent heat
6 Modern Physics
  • Radioactivity and changes in the nucleus, background radiation and safety precautions

Class 10 Physics paper is one of the most important examinations in ICSE. Students who are going to sit for ICSE exam must be completely familiar with the ICSE Class 10 syllabus of Physics to excel in the exam. The latest syllabus of Class 10 Physics is given in the below-mentioned table which is according to the guidelines of CISCE. Students must follow the syllabus on a regular basis while preparing for their examination.

The ICSE Class 10 Physics exam is divided into 2 sections, namely Section I, which consists of 40 marks and Section II, which also consists of 40 marks. The duration of the exam is 2 hours, with total marks of 80. Section I of the Physics paper will contain short answer questions which are all compulsory questions. Section II will consist of 6 questions out of which students can attempt any 4 questions.

ICSE Physics Experiments for Class 10

ICSE Class 10 practical exam for Physics Class 10 consists of 20 marks. The Physics practical syllabus consists of various interesting experiments. Students should revise their practical notes before their examination. Students should try out each experiment at least once at the Physics laboratory by following the procedure mentioned in the lab manual in their school, to acquire the necessary skills set for the examination.

ICSE Physics Practical Evaluation for Class 10

Subject External Examiner Marks Internal Examiner Marks Total Marks
Physics Practical Work/Project Evaluation 10 10 20

ICSE Class 10 Physics (Theory Paper) Exam Pattern

Knowing the exam pattern for a subject like Physics which comprises of vast concepts and numerical problems will help students to know what type of questions they can expect from each chapter. The exam pattern includes the number of questions for each section, weightage of the questions and how many questions are compulsory to attempt.

For Physics ( 2 Hrs)
Section – A  – Short compulsory questions worth 40 marks
Section – B  – 6 questions out of which any 4 are to be solved worth 40 marks.

Stay tuned with BYJU’S to get the latest news on ICSE and ISC exam along with the exam syllabus, marking scheme of the exam, time table and other exam details.

1 Comment

  1. Superb website. Thanks a lot. Thanks once again.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *