JEE Main Eligibility Criteria

JEE Main Eligibility Criteria – The NTA (National Testing Agency) usually declares the eligibility for the JEE Main exam and the criteria is mostly kept the same for both January and April sessions. If you are planning to apply for JEE Main 2020, then you will find all the information regarding the eligibility criteria on this page. Normally, the eligibility factors remain the same and if there are any changes there will be minor ones. In 2019, one key change that was introduced was that a candidate could now take a total of six attempts in JEE Main in three consecutive years. From 2019 onwards the exam is being conducted two times in a year.

JEE Main Eligibility Criteria

JEE Main eligibility is an important piece of document that lays out important information about age criteria, total attempts, eligibility marks, pass percentage, selection criteria for IIITs, NITs and GFTIs, subjects pursued in the qualifying exam and the year of passing or appearance in the qualifying exam. Aspirants should, therefore, go through the eligibility details before applying for the exam. They should meet all the requirements and then only apply for the exam. If they fail to meet any of the criteria then their application will stand null and void.

Here, aspirants will find complete details on the requirements for JEE Main. Candidates are advised to read all the given instructions thoroughly for the successful approval of their application form. As per recent reports, the Aadhaar Card is also not compulsory to apply for this exam.

JEE Main 2020 Eligibility

Based on the following parameters the candidates will be eligible for JEE Main exam 2020.

1. Nationality

Candidates must be a citizen of India. Foreign national candidates as well as NRIs, PIOs, OCIs can also apply.

2. Age Criteria

All candidates (General Category) born on or after 1st of October 1995 are eligible for JEE Main 2020. For SC, ST and PwD candidates, the age limit has been relaxed to 5 years and they should have been born on or after 1st of October 1990, to be eligible. However, if reports are true then the age limit will be scrapped off for the upcoming exam.

3. Total Attempts

The students can avail a maximum of three consecutive attempts for JEE Main and two consecutive attempts for JEE Advanced. The first attempt is taken soon after 12th board exams followed by the other attempts in consecutive years. The exam will be held twice a year so total attempts a candidate can appear for are six.

4. Subjects In The Qualifying Exam

It is mandatory for all students appearing for JEE Main that they must have pursued at least 5 subjects with Physics and Maths as their core subjects in their qualifying examinations. Students who have studied less than 5 subjects in their qualifying exam are not eligible for JEE Main. Physics, Mathematics, Chemistry, Language and one more subject of choice is required as eligibility for JEE Main.

To make it more clear for B.E./ B.Tech, the subjects included are language, Physics, Mathematics, Chemistry / Biology / Biotechnology / Technical Vocational Subject, and any other subject. For B.Arch / B. Planning the subjects included are Language, Physics, Mathematics (mandatory), Chemistry / Biology / Biotechnology / Technical Vocational Subject, and any other subject.

5. Year Of Passing The Qualifying Exam

Students who have passed their 12th class examination or other equivalent qualifying examination in 2018 or 2019 are eligible for appearing in JEE Main 2020. Students currently appearing for their Class 12 examination or other equivalent qualifying examination are also eligible, provided their result should be declared before 15th of June 2020.

6. Diploma Holders

If a candidate is a diploma holder then he/she can apply in JEE Main exam. However, one thing here is that the rank and score obtained in the exam will not be considered for admission in NITs or CFTIs.

7. Marks Eligibility

For the candidates belonging to general category-The students must have secured a minimum of 75% marks in their class 12th board exams or they must rank among the top 20 percentile in their qualifying examination for getting admissions in IITs, NITs, IIITs and other CFTIs.

For candidates belonging to a reserved category, a minimum of 65% marks is required for getting admissions in different undergraduate courses offered at IITs, NITs, IIITs and other CFTIs.

JEE Main Eligibility For Repeaters

  1. NTA has removed the age limit. Before candidates had to be less than the age category of 24 years.
  2. Candidate must have passed the 12th class exam or another equivalent qualifying exam in 2018 or 2019.
  3. 75% of marks need to be secured by the candidates who have appeared for the class 12th board exam.
  4. Candidates must have 5 subjects in the qualifying exam with Physics and Mathematics as mandatory subjects.

JEE Main eligibility criteria for repeaters and class 12th candidates have to be fulfilled by all the engineering aspirants. Meanwhile, JEE Main is also an eligibility test for students aspiring to sit for JEE Advanced. The top 2,50,000 candidates who qualify in the Main exam will be allowed to appear for the Advanced exam.

About JEE Main

Joint Entrance Exam (Main) is a common entrance exam conducted at the national level to facilitate the admission of students in undergraduate courses offered by various government and private engineering institutes in India. The exam is usually held in the months of January and April and is conducted by NTA who is also responsible for releasing application forms, admit cards, and declaring the results.

However, candidates have to keep one important thing in mind. To avoid the rejection of JEE Main application form, applicants should go through and have a clear knowledge of the eligibility criteria for JEE Main. It is mandatory for engineering aspirants to meet all the requirements. Qualified students will be eligible to get admissions in B.Tech, B.E, B.Arch, Integrated MSc courses in premier engineering institutes like NITs, IIITs after successful completion of JEE Main exam.

For further question on JEE go through JEE FAQs.

Frequently Asked Questions on JEE Main Eligibility

Who is eligible for JEE Main 2020?

For 2020, candidates who have passed their Class 12th Examination or any equivalent qualifying examination in 2018, 2019 or those who are appearing for their class 12th Examination or any equivalent qualifying examination in 2020 are eligible to appear in JEE (Main) Examination.

My percentage is less than 75% in my XII standard board exams. Can I appear for JEE Main 2020?

Yes you can appear for the exam but you might face a problem during the admissions. Generally, candidates are required to have 75% or more in their class 12 final exams or they should be in the top 20 percentile in order to avail admission into the IITs, NITs, and GFTIs.

What is the age limit for JEE Main 2020?

For appearing in the JEE (Main)-2020 examination there is no age limit for the candidates.

If a candidate has cleared the exam in 2019 but is again appearing for improvement in 2020. Is he/she eligible?

Yes, these candidates are eligible to appear for the exam.

Can diploma students apply for JEE Main?

Yes diploma holders can apply for JEE Main 2020. However, they can write the exam only for qualifying for JEE Advanced. This category of candidates will not be granted admission into IITs, NITs or CFTIs.

Solving JEE Pulley problems

Complex JEE problems


Free Class