JEE Main 2024 Question Paper Solution Discussion Live JEE Main 2024 Question Paper Solution Discussion Live

NTSE Eligibility 2022

NTSE (National Talent Search Examination) 2022 is an examination conducted in 2 stages by the National Council of Education Research and Training (NCERT) to award scholarships to candidates with high intellect and skills. This examination is conducted for students from Class X. The candidate can take up the examination only if he/she is an Indian national or Indian origin person studying abroad. The upper age limit for appearing in the NTSE examination is 18 years. The state-level examination (Stage 1) is conducted in two parts – part 1 is the mental aptitude test and part-2 is the Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT). The national level examination (Stage 2) is conducted for the candidates who qualify in the stage 1 examination.

Along with the official notification in the NTSE Stage 1, the conducting authority has announced the upper age restriction for all candidates. Students in the open programme must be under the age of eighteen. This age restriction applies to both Indian and Indian-origin students who are studying abroad. NTSE eligibility criteria 2022 has been explained in detail below.

NTSE Eligibility for Stage 1 (State level examination)

  • The candidate must be a Class X student from any Government/ Private school in India.
  • There is no domicile restriction. The candidate can be from any State/Union Territory of India.
  • The candidates studying in open or distance learning are also eligible to write NTSE 2022, provided they are less than 18 years of age, not employed and are appearing for the Class X board examination for the first time.

NTSE Eligibility for Stage 2 (National level examination)

  • Only the students who qualified in stage 1 (state-level examination) are eligible to appear for Stage 2 examination. The roll number, venue, date of examination details will be conveyed to the selected candidates by NCERT through its official website.

NTSE Eligibility for Students Studying Abroad

  • Indian students studying abroad in Class X or equivalent are eligible to write stage 2 (second level examination) directly and are exempted from the stage 1 examination.
  • The candidate must have scored 60% in the previous year’s annual examination.
  • The candidate should appear for the examination in a centre in India
  • The candidates must request through the Head of the Institution where he/she is studying, along with an attested copy of the Class IX mark sheet. The request should reach the Head, Department of Educational Survey Division, NCERT, New Delhi by 31 December of the concerned year.
  • The selected candidate will receive the scholarship only if he/she decides to pursue studies in India.

Read more: NTSE

Required Minimum Qualifying Score in Class 9

State Minimum qualifying Marks (For General Category) Minimum qualifying Marks (For Reserved Category)
Maharashtra 60% marks 55%
Uttar Pradesh 55% 44%
Rajasthan 55% 50%
Punjab 70% 55%
Madhya Pradesh 40% 32%
West Bengal 50% 40%
Delhi 60% 55%
Jammu & Kashmir 60% 55%
Bihar 60%
Assam 40% 32%
Goa 70% 55%
Tamil Nadu 60%
Gujarat 55%
Uttarakhand 60% 55%
Jharkhand 55% 40%
Haryana 55%
Himachal Pradesh 60% 55%
Puducherry 60%
Manipur 60% 55%
Odisha 60% 55%
Kerala 55%
Chandigarh 61% 56%

Eligibility Criteria for the NTSE in 2022- Reservation seat

Some places are designated for SC/ST and PWD kids, according to NCERT guidelines. This reservation also applies to Indian students studying abroad, but only if they return to India to finish their education. Reservation criteria may be seen in the table below.

NTSE Reservation Criteria

Category Reservation
Schedule Cast 15%
Scheduled Tribe 7.5%
Person with Disability 3%

Frequently Asked Questions on NTSE Eligibility Criteria


Who may take the NTS Exam

Students in class X are eligible to take the NTSE test. The student must pass class IX with a particular minimum score that is established by SCERT each year. The candidate must be an Indian citizen under the age of eighteen. Students who attend an open school are also able to take the NTSE.

What are the NTSE exam passing marks?

The cutoff for stage 1 is set by each state, and it varies from year to year.
NCERT publishes a Stage 2 cutoff that changes every year.

Is it possible for students in Class 11 to take the NTSE?

No, the NTSE exam is only given to students in Class 10.

Is there any negative marking in the first stage of the NTSE?

No, there are no negative marks for the first stage of NTSE.

Is there any kind of reservation for Indian nationals?

Candidates who pass the NTSE stage 2 exams will be eligible for reservation privileges. However, for Indian Nationals, the reservation differs by category: 15% for Schedule Caste, 7.5 percent for Schedule Tribe, and 3% for Physically Disabled. General students must achieve a score of 40% on the criterion, while others must achieve a score of 32%.


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.