CBSE Grading System For Class 9

CBSE had introduced the grading system which is similar to the grading system of Cambridge International Exam. The system is called the nine-point grading system and includes 9 pointers to reflect a candidate’s performance.

This was mainly introduced to categorize students according to their grades. It is often considered that if a student gets 85% marks, he is equally competitive and scholastic to a student scoring 90% marks.

The CBSE grading system for class 9 is given below in the table.

Marks Grade Points Grade
91 to 100 10 A1
81-90 9 A2
71 to 80 8 B1
61 to 70 7 B2
51 to 60 6 C1
41 to 50 5 C2
33 to 40 4 D
21 to 32 0 E1
< 20 0 E2

Apart from this, every student is provided with a CGPA i.e. Cumulative Grade Point Average which reflects the subject-wise performance. CGPA can be defined as the average of grade points in all main subjects.

So, CGPA = Sum of Grade Points Obtained (in 5 main subjects)/ 5

Students can also multiply 9.5 with their respective CGPA to get their respective percentages.

Keep visiting BYJU’S to get more such information about the CBSE exams and get several video lessons, sample papers and previous year question papers to help the students prepare more effectively.


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.