CBSE Marking Scheme

Marking scheme for CBSE

The Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) conducts the board exams for classes 10 and 12 every year. The exams are held mostly in February/March. The CBSE results will be announced by the end of May. After the declaration of the result, the board releases the answers to the questions papers which are called as CBSE Marking Scheme. Marking Scheme is released for all the subject papers of class 10 and class 12. Here, students can find all details related to the Marking Scheme of CBSE.

The board has released the sample papers 2021 on the official website for students’ practice. Along with the sample papers, the board has made available the marking scheme for all the subjects, which contains the answers/solutions. For the academic years 2020-21, the board reduced the CBSE syllabus of classes 10 and 12 by 30%. Due to this, there is some change in the paper pattern. So, students are advised to go through the sample papers and marking scheme 2021 to understand the latest changes made in the exam pattern. It will also give a good idea of the board paper and help them prepare effectively for the board exam.

The CBSE marking scheme is decided by the board itself and is followed by all the schools affiliated to CBSE. The CBSE marking scheme is made available for all the subjects for classes 10 and 12, consisting of language subjects as well. Students who are preparing for the upcoming class 10 and class 12 board exams must go through the Marking Scheme after solving the CBSE Previous Years Question Papers.

Marking Scheme for CBSE

CBSE Marking Scheme will help students to understand how the marks are allocated to each step for a particular question. By knowing this, they get to know the importance of answering a question in steps. This helps students in improving their answer-writing skills. To get a detailed CBSE Marking Scheme for Class 10 and Class 12, visit the links mentioned below.

CBSE Marking Scheme for Class 10
CBSE Marking Scheme for Class 12

However, the students can also download the marking scheme for all the subjects from the official CBSE site. We have also provided the steps on how to download the Marking scheme for CBSE.

Steps to Check the Class 10 and 12 Marking Scheme

Step 1: Visit the official website of CBSE (

Step 2: Under the ‘Sample Question Paper’ tab, click on the “SQP 2020-21”.

Step 3: The CBSE marking scheme for classes 10 and 12 will be displayed.

Step 4: Select the class by clicking on the link.

Step 5: Click on the particular subject to download the sample paper and marking scheme. Take a printout.

We hope students have found this information on the “CBSE Marking Scheme” useful for their preparation. Keep learning and stay tuned for further updates on CBSE and other competitive exams. Download BYJU’S App and subscribe to the YouTube channel to access interactive Maths and Science videos.


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.



  1. Byjus is very interesting app for learning.