CBSE Exam Pattern For Class 1 to 5

CBSE envisions the all-round development of students with a holistic approach to education. It emphasises on integration of the co-curricular domain with the curricular domain in an equitable manner. Here, we have provided the CBSE exam pattern and course structure for scholastic and co-scholastic learning. The CBSE curriculum is designed in such a way that it will foster core competencies in students.

CBSE Exam Pattern for Class 1 to 5

As per the latest CBSE exam pattern for classes 1 to 5, the assessment of students will be done in two areas, i.e.

  1. Scholastic
  2. Co-scholastic

The scholastic area mostly includes test marks, notebook upkeep and subject enrichment. On the other hand, the co-scholastic areas include skill-based activities, art education, physical education and other co-curricular activities like dance, art, music, etc.

The academic year is split into two sessions, i.e., Formative and Summative Assessments.

  • Formative Assessment (FA)

Through this assessment, the students are observed on a regular basis regarding their progress in academics. It includes conversations, projects, classwork, visual testing, assignments, class test, homework, practicals, quizzes, oral testing, etc. These formative assessments are purely informal, however, the date and time of the test will be announced beforehand. These assessments will be conducted during regular periods for the concerned subjects.

  • Summative Assessment (SA)

This assessment test is the final assessment of the student’s performance. This assessment will be conducted twice a year, at the end of each term, in the form of a proper pen and paper-based test conducted by the schools themselves.

CBSE Grading System for Classes 1 to 5

All the internal and external assessments will be made in marks. However, the overall results will be given in grades. The final report card of students will reflect only the grades. The CBSE exam pattern for classes 1 to 5 is the same and the grades given are on 5 point scale. The grades will be based on a student’s performance in all 6 exams (4 FAs and 2 SAs).

The current grading system with the CBSE exam pattern for classes 1 to 5 is discussed in the table given below

Grades Range Remarks
A* (Grade – 1) 90% to 100 % Outstanding
A (Grade – 2) 75% to 89 % Excellent
B (Grade – 3) 56% to 74 % Very Good
C (Grade – 4) 35% to 55 % Good
D (Grade – 5) Below 35 % Scope for Improvement

For more information on CBSE classes and exams, stay tuned with BYJU’S. Also, get several sample papers, question papers and preparation tips at BYJU’S.


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.