Anatomy of Flowering Plants Class 11 Notes - Chapter 6

The plants that we see today is the result of 470 million years of evolution. During this long timeframe, plants have evolved into an innumerable number species, with each member having their own characteristic features. The last to evolve among these is the angiosperms or the Flowering Plants.

What are Flowering Plants?

Angiosperms are the only plants in the plant kingdom capable of producing flowers, which eventually become fruits, however, not all flowers become fruits. Furthermore, flowering plants are the most diverse, with over 295,000 species discovered to date.

Flowering Plants are primarily made up of two tissues, namely meristematic and permanent tissue. Meristematic tissue is further composed of 3 types of tissues that serve very specific functions:

  1. Apical tissue
  2. Intercalary tissue
  3. Lateral tissue

Permanent tissues are classified into 2 types namely:

  1. Simple tissue
    1. Parenchyma
    2. Collenchyma
    3. Sclerenchyma
  1. Complex tissue
    1. Xylem
    2. Phloem

Anatomy of Flowering Plants Questions

  1. What are angiosperms?
  2. What is a meristem? Explain the types.
  3. What is a dicot root?
  4. Differentiate between monocot and dicot roots.
  5. What are complex tissues?
  6. What are simple tissues?
  7. Define xylem
  8. Describe the structure of dorsiventral leaf with a labelled diagram.

To discover even more in-depth concepts about the anatomy of the flowering plants, or other related topics including class 11 notes or important questions, register with BYJU’s.

Further Reading:-

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *