Revision Notes For For Class 11 Biology Chapter 4 Animal Kingdom

The largest kingdom among the five kingdom of classifications is the animal kingdom. All the members of this kingdom are eukaryotes, multicellular, and heterotrophs which obtain their energy either by feeding on plants or on other animals. There are around 9 to 10 million species of animals, among which 800,000 to 900,000 species are identified. They include birds, mammals, reptiles, fish, amphibians, etc. Every single species of this kingdom has their own unique characteristics.

Classification of animals helps us to recognize their features, as well as their differences with other organisms. The Animal Kingdom consists of a different animal species which ranges from the simplest to the most complex forms of animals. The classification of animals is further divided into different phyla and subphylum. The different phylum of the animal kingdom are as follows:

  1. Phylum Porifera
  2. Phylum Coelenterata
  3. Phylum Platyhelminthes
  4. Phylum Nematoda
  5. Phylum Annelida
  6. Phylum Arthropoda
  7. Phylum Mollusca
  8. Phylum Echinodermata
  9. Phylum Protochordata
  10. Phylum Vertebrata

Browse CBSE Class 11 Biology Chapter 4 Notes 

For more information about the Animal Kingdom, click on the below-mentioned links.

Animal Kingdom Omnivores
Animal Kingdom – Phylum Classification of Animal Kingdom
Carnivores and Herbivores Basis of Classification of Animal Kingdom

Frequently asked Questions on CBSE Class 11 Biology Notes Chapter 4: Animal Kingdom


What is a ‘phyla’?

Phylum is a level of classification or taxonomic rank below kingdom and above class.


What are characteristics of phylum Mollusca?

The animals belonging to the phylum Mollusca have soft-bodies, triploblastic and bilaterally symmetrical and coelomate.


What are the 5 phyla of vertebrates?

The phylum chordata (animals with backbones) is divided into five common classes: fish, amphibians, reptiles, mammals and birds.


Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published.



Tuition Center
Tuition Centre
free trial
Free Trial Class
Scholarship Test
Scholarship Test
Question and Answer
Question & Answer