CBSE Grading System Class 10

The Central Board of Secondary Education has introduced a new grading system for Class 10 students. The new nine-point scale grading system will require students to get qualifying grades in 4 out of 5 subjects to get promoted to the next higher class. The board has decided not to carry a pass or fail on the mark sheet of students. The grading system has been introduced to reduce the unnecessary pressure from students by means of continuous evaluation by taking a number of small tests throughout the year, instead of a single test at the end of the academic session.

The new grading system will have a five-point scale, in which students will be awarded grades from A to E. This grading system was implemented to eliminate the schools from showing the numerical scores on the report card of each student. Know more about the CBSE marking scheme and CBSE grading system class 10 through this article. The nine-point grading system employed to measure the scholastic achievements of students are given in the below table.

Marks Range Grade Grade Point
91-100 A1 10.0
81-90 A2 9.0
71-80 B1 8.0
61-70 B2 7.0
51-60 C1 6.0
41-50 C2 5.0
33-40 D 4.0
21-32 E1 Fail
00-20 E2 Fail

Apart from this, a student is provided with CGPA which stands for cumulative grade point assessment which defines the average of grade points in all main subjects.

CGPA = Sum of Grade points obtained in 5 main subjects/5

To know more about CGPA, visit the CGPA Calculator page and get to know how the percentage is obtained from CGPA.

Keep visiting BYJU’S to get more such information on the CBSE exams and get several video lessons, sample papers and previous year question papers to help the students prepare more effectively.

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *




Free Class