Revision Notes For For Class 11 Biology Chapter 6 Anatomy Of Flowering Plants

Anatomy is the study of Internal Structure of an organism. Plant Anatomy mainly refers to the internal structure of a plant including the cells, and different types of tissues along with their functions.

In general, a tissue is defined as a group of cells that are similar or identical in configuration and work together to attain a specific function. The two different types of plant tissues include permanent and Meristematic tissues.

Meristematic tissues

A group of actively dividing cells that are capable of forming new cells are known as Meristematic Tissue. It is a zone of actively dividing tissues and mainly responsible for the plant’s growth. There are three types of Meristematic Tissue:

  • Apical meristem
  • Lateral meristem
  • Intercalary meristem

Permanent tissues

The plant tissues which have lost their ability or incapable of distributing or dividing is termed as the permanent tissues. They are a group of dead or living cells formed by Meristematic tissues. These tissues are mainly responsible for providing elasticity, flexibility, and strength to the plant. There are two types of Permanent tissues:

  • Simple Permanent Tissue
  • Complex Permanent Tissue

Check here for the free CBSE Class 11 Biology revision notes for Chapter 6 – Anatomy of Flowering Plants

Class 11 Biology Chapter 6 - Anatomy of Flowering Plants
Class 11 Biology Chapter 6 - Anatomy of Flowering Plants

For more information about the Anatomy of Flowering Plants,click on the below-mentioned


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *