Revision Notes For For Class 11 Biology Chapter 2 Biological Classification

The Biological Classification basically refers to the scientific procedure of assembling or arranging the known organisms into their respective series of group and subgroups. These biological classification is mainly based on their similarities in their characteristics and habitat. The scientific study of classification helps in understanding the different types along with the features of different living species of the ecosystem. Taxonomy is the science, which involves the naming, describing, and classification the organisms. The organisms are classified according to a system of seven ranks:

Kingdom– Phylum–Class–Order–Family–Genus–Species.

Later during 1950’s, an American scientist named R.H. Whittaker classified organisms into five kingdoms, and this classification was based on few characteristic features:

  • Cell Structure
  • Organization
  • Reproduction
  • Mode Of Nutrition
  • Phylogenetic Relationship.

The five kingdoms of biological classification are:

  • Kingdom Monera.
  • Kingdom Protista.
  • Kingdom Fungi.
  • Kingdom Plantae.
  • Kingdom Animalia.

CBSE Notes for Class 11 Biology Chapter 2- Biological Classification

For more information about the Biological Classification, click on the below-mentioned links.

Leave a Comment

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *




Free Class